Spotted at the fashion week

Posted on Updated on

Now the whole sequence of a fashion week posts is not complete without a few spottings. Since its a fashion week, apart from dressing up, one does tend to come across almost everyone dressed to the nines. Apart from the usual being dressed up, you do manage to see people going all out taking risks and having fun with fashion.

ammar-belal-2 ammar-belal
Ammar Belal was dressed to the nines on all the days I saw him at the Fashion week. While his blue suit was my favorite and reminded me of Tom Hiddleston for his press call at cannes, the espadrilles were a perfect knockout to the blue double breasted suit. He made it casual but just not enough so keeping the whole look dressed up. The Grey suit with the t.shirt reminded me of Nolan Ross. The pop of blue with that tie…SCORE.

IMG_2233 IMG_2237
IMG_2793 IMG_2796
Batur of WTF Batur, made a statement almost everyday of the fashion week. given his eccentric style, it was fun to see him experiment, be  it the pink plastic bag bow tie or the colorful kheris. The suit, however, was easily my favorite. The splattered paint print and inverted on sleeves, the fun wired bowtie and the striking golden yellow shoes were bang on. The black visors went well with the whole quirky polished look. Accented in just the right amount he pretty much nailed it.

IMGs_3651 IMG_3654s IMG_3652
IMG_4754 IMG_4764
Usama Humayun just nailed the sharp look everytime. I wish I could pull off the polished look as well as his. Reminding me of Moti Ankari, everytime, specifically for his love of clean lines and tailored look.  The subtlety in being polished is one of the traits I need to master. While on the third day he made an appearance in a piped blazer.. one that has a tendency to go school uniform but this one makes it work. However it was the monochrome look that sealed the deal for me. Breaking off he white with a velvet black nehru waistcoat and a patterned pocketsquare to just about tip the scales, he made his mark just enough to earn him a spot.

IMG_2246 Official PFDC Spokesperson Sara Shahid
The Official spokesperson for PFDC Council, Sara Shahid’s two striking appearances that made quite the impact were the monochrome seperates and the overall black look. While on day one she killed the seperates, nailing it all. What I loved was that it was all off setted with a metallic clutch adding in just enough zing to the whole look. However on Day 2 she made an appearance in a black on black ensemble. However one of the major things that I had been waiting to see, leather sequined fabric, was what she decided to wear. Though summers and leather don’t mix, the light weight upper with leather sequins in rows was such a delightful fabric and the look was put together in the same way as I would have if I would have gotten my hands on that fabric. The minimal diva just played off with the texture, balancing it with plain black and maroon flats finishing off with a ponytail look. Minimally chic.

IMG_3675 - Copy
I just envied Aamna Haider Isani the moment she walked in on what I believe was Day 2. The road map print by Gulabo was used by Maheen Karim to create an upper with a plain inner. I had been lusting this print for a while and have by fingers crossed if it ever gets made in men’s button downs. The tapulicious clutch was a perfect accessory that Aamna flaunted with it.

IMG_2445 IMG_4694
Of the two occassions Mohsin Ali impressed me was when he had his show, he made an appearance in a pastel blue suit by Republic by Omar Farooq. Pairing up the suit with a pink shirt, yellow accessories, a quirky bow tie and sneakers, he with the signature quiff was at ease and relaxed in the summery ensemble. Also making an appearance on third day in the lace suit by Ali Xeeshan reminded me of Marc Jacobs at Met Gala last year. He picked black shoes and belt and no accessories, letting the clothes do the talking. He pulled that off with quite aplomb. What makes Mohsin a fun to look out for on the red carpet is he is unafraid to take risks..and is hardly bothered by anything, making it really difficult for him to get it wrong.

DETAILS

IMG_5116 IMG_5119 - Copy IMG_5115
Designer for Arsalan Iqbal, Moeed Tariq sported some pretty nifty accessories. While I did spot the necklace during the show, it was the mechanical watch parts key pin that caught my eye…SO JEALOUS. Keeping the look simple, he knew he scored with those accessories and thus let them take centerstage.

IMG_4765 IMG_5105
Menswear blogger Ikram… DOT…Khalid 😛 on the last day sported a tailored sherwani whilst he went around photographing people. However the photographer got clicked in his understated look however if u see closely, the floral pin and the striped socks were the quirky details in his look that caught my eye.

IMG_2963
The birds chirped in on Raheel Rao’s shoulder in a Kuki concept quirky jacket that had these birds chirped onto his shoulder. The tweet-y bird definitely had competition that day

STEPPING IN

shoes IMG_2238 IMG_3666 IMG_3274
Mohsin Ali in Arsalan Iqbal, Amna Mansuri, Kokab Alvi and Anber Jawed.

People attending fashion week had some fun and chic footwear on and I couldn’t help notice quite a few of them. Mohsin added pop of color through shoes by Arsalan Iqbal to his monochrome ensemble. Amna Mansuri had some fun red booties on that were oh so nerdy dorothy fun that I just flipped. Monochrome heels by Anber Jawed were a lesson in minimal chic making the maximum impact to the whole look. Kokab Alvi wore this anklet (second one I spotted, first one on Ikram’s blog on Rehan Bashir) and got me thinking and making me open to the idea of trying it out if I go for a certain look to add that twist. Though I have done beads around ankle with a dhoti, an anklet like this definitely goes on my MUST TRY things (even though I’ll fidget with it to no end :P).

10 thoughts on “Spotted at the fashion week

    That Paki Boy said:
    May 5, 2014 at 8:35 pm

    I can’t believe I’m not on the list (since i didn’t come).

    But can one get noticed WITHOUT making a statement? Like, is looking good just not enough? Does one HAVE to stand out? Just wondering.

      owais responded:
      May 5, 2014 at 8:38 pm

      not really… if u see Sara Shahid’s look, it was minimal and understated but still got noticed coz it was chic. OTT is does get u noticed but its not always the key

        That Paki Boy said:
        May 5, 2014 at 9:44 pm

        I wonder would someone had noticed it had it not been Sara Shahid?

        owais responded:
        May 5, 2014 at 9:56 pm

        definitely… chic is never out of vogue

        That Paki Boy said:
        May 6, 2014 at 10:17 am

        nor is fame

    That Paki Boy said:
    May 5, 2014 at 8:36 pm

    Anyway, that was just the philosophical side of me speaking.

    Everyone looks amazing. But Moeed’s look stole my heart!

    ikramdotkhalid said:
    May 6, 2014 at 10:10 am

    you could have asked me for a picture…haha…I look like a puffed up short sleeve..!!! Thank you nonetheless 🙂

      owais responded:
      May 6, 2014 at 10:44 am

      nothing like candid-ness

    Moeed Tariq said:
    May 6, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    Thank you Owais! God knows I never thought I’d be on one of these lists. And I love the fact that your’s is the first one ever for me. Tell you what, you can borrow the key pin any time you want 🙂

      owais responded:
      May 6, 2014 at 7:43 pm

      🙂

Leave a Reply

